TESTIMONIALS

Testimonials from students, adults, parents, schools, women’s groups and staff team building sessions.

SDF Essex self defence has run classes in Billericay, Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Great Baddow Chelmsford, Colchester, Rayleigh,  Southend and across London..

From my initial inquiry about SDF Essex Richard has been attentive to detail. He is incredibly passionate and his energy and pride is infectious.

I approached SDF Essex at a time when I was in a very dark place. Having had been in a very toxic and abusive relationship, it was suggested that I look into self defence classes.

Dubious to say the least I made my inquiries and Richard put me at ease from the very first interaction with him. He asked me questions although was always very considerate as not to pry.

Having now attended 5 sessions, I am pleased to say that Richard has really helped me along my road to recovery. He has always been considerate and conscious of the experiences I have been through and will always check to make sure that I really am okay.

He is flexible and encourages you to make as many classes as you can but there is no pressure to feel like you have to attend every week. For me this works out perfectly as a single parent and having only every other weekend free I can’t commit to make every Sunday.

He’ll work you hard and you certainly feel it for the week to follow but I feel invigorated, confident and empowered to take on the world.

Thank you.

Domestic abuse victim attends self defence classes in Great Baddow Chelmsford Essex

“Having moved to Essex with two teenage children, I wanted them to meet new people and try a new activity. I was recommended that they try SDF Essex.

I contacted Richard who was so helpful and my children decided to “give it a go”. They both really enjoy going with the bonus that this activity can be used towards their Duke of Edinburgh award. As a parent I now feel that they are getting fit, meeting new people and having the bonus of keeping themselves safe”

…”I joined the self defence classes in the summer of 2017 as a way of meeting new people due to recently moving to Chelmsford and to be part of my physical section for my Gold Duke of Edinburgh award. I have throughly enjoyed the year, getting to meet a range of different people and learning a range of skills to keep myself safe. Despite sometimes the cold wet weather, the community spirit was always good and kept me motivated. I would recommend this activity to anyone who wants to meet new people, keep fit and to be aware of how to protect yourself”.

Physical Activity for Duke of Edinburgh Award in Brentwood Essex

SDF Essex Self defence testimonial request

If you have attended an SDF Essex self defence session we would love to hear from you.

SDF Essex student feedback

"I decided to join SDF Essex as something happened to me at school.

I Love SDF Essex so much, it’s made me a very different person but in a good way and I wanted to learn how to protect myself.

Richard has taught me so many techniques, how to protect myself and what to do in a bad situation, but also in a fun and exciting way.

I would definitely recommend SDF Essex to my friends as it’s made me more confident. I’m very thankful to Richard.

Learning self defence helps keep me safe, fit and a chance to meet new people" 🙂 

SDF Essex Self Defence training

Self defence for students the training for individuals begins by attending a beginners half day class.

This Covers theory personal safety, awareness and many self defence practical skills. Training is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10.

Join SDF Essex at the Half Day Beginners self defence class in Brentwood or Great Baddow Chelmsford, Essex.

Beginners Self Defence class once completed, can attend weekly classes are on a pay as you go basis at the SDF Essex self defence club.

Fights and attacks are messy, however, knowing a range of techniques early on will help ensure less reliance on strength alone.

Beyond the first 6 to 8 training sessions I focus on making attacks a little more challenging to apply skills learnt. At the end of each class I pressure-test all students.

This involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help avoid freezing in an anxious situation.

Help build confidence

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly really great fun.

Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation. Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

May 13, 2024

SDF Essex self defence club

Chelmsford self defence review from a new student recently moved to Essex.

"I recently moved to Essex and decided to take up some self defence techniques. 

Richard's classes are fun and at the right learning pace, especially for beginners. 

The focus is on techniques to defend against attackers in a real life situation.

Everyone is really friendly and Richard is considerate when teaching the techniques at your own pace".

Chelmsford self defence review from a new student

SDF Essex Training

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex. The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques.

Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation,

Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

Fights and attacks are messy, therefore knowing a range of techniques early on, even if not perfected, will help and ensure less reliance on strength alone. I teach all techniques both left and right handed to increase the likelihood of applying them successfully.

Beyond the first 6 to 8 week period training focuses on making attacks a little more challenging to apply skills learnt. At the end of each class I pressure-test all students, this involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help with avoiding freezing in an anxious situation. This all builds confidence as further techniques are taught.

 

April 28, 2024

Essex self defence lessons

I've been thinking about taking self defence lessons for a long time.

As my daughters started taking public transport to school, I thought, it was definitely time.

While I hope they would never need to use it, it's good to have some learned responses and not FREEZE in a dangerous situation. 

I am very glad that the beginners session was compulsory because while it was educational and fun, it also was a taster of things to come and for all of us to consider how we felt about the training and the trainer.

We are now into our 2nd month of self defence family sessions and we love it.

One of my daughters also takes it for her Duke of Edinburgh bronze award

Richard is an excellent teacher. Super patient for the ones who need more time and reassurance but also challenges students at the pace them appropriate, so everyone feels that they are making progress.

Great outdoor sessions, I wholeheartedly recommend.

SDF-Essex Club Student Mum Testimonial

SDF Essex Self defence club (after the beginners class)

The structure of the first 6 to 8 SDF Essex self defence lessons is that a variety of techniques are covered to give students a good general awareness, then beyond that skills can be refined and developed further. This approach covers various types of attacks, which I believe is vital.

Students learn to apply the most appropriate response to where or how the attack has been initiated, e.g.  addressing a punch to the side of the head, being approached from behind, escaping from a headlock, having their feet targeted, dealing with a gang attack, considering a weapon attack from different directions and applying further take downs and floor techniques, including rape defence if requested.

Fights and attacks are messy, therefore knowing a range of techniques early on, even if not perfected, will help and ensure less reliance on strength alone. I teach all techniques both left and right handed to increase the likelihood of applying them successfully.

Beyond the 6 to 8 week period training focuses on making attacks a little more challenging to apply skills learnt. At the end of each class I pressure-test all students, this involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help with avoiding freezing in an anxious situation. This all builds confidence as further techniques are taught.

SDF Essex Training

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex. The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques. Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation.  Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

January 22, 2024

Self-defence builds confidence

Self defence builds confidence a parent review from a youth group booking.

A brilliant self defence starter course for my son and his friends this morning.

Very well thought out (theory & practical) and planned to give them the knowledge to be able to protect themselves in lots of different scenarios with tips on how to keep safe on journeys to and from school. Also good as their independence grows and they go out with friends.

Richard makes sure the children are comfortable to participate in each scenario and takes them through it step by step building their confidence.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend SDF Essex.

Essex Parent Testimonial

I attended the beginners self defence class in Chelmsford recently and was really impressed.

The morning class was a mix of theory and practical skills. 

Richard was very attentive to safety and the needs of the individual participants.

I feel like the class really gives people knowledge and confidence in promoting safety for oneself.

Not only were the skills taught in an excellent way, the class was very enjoyable.

Richard’s passion for promoting safety and self defence really makes this a highly valuable experience.

I would highly recommend this class and further classes with SDF Essex Self Defence.

Essex Student Testimonial

SDF Essex Self defence

At the end of each class I pressure-test all students, this involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help with avoiding freezing in an anxious situation.

SDF Essex self-defence builds confidence

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun.

Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10.

SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individuals in Great Baddow Chelmsford and Mountnessing Brentwood.

Group self defence / personal safety bookings in London and Essex.

Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation. Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

October 17, 2023

Self-defence for Duke of Edinburgh scheme

‘From my initial enquiry, Richard has been nothing but professional, calm and extremely knowledgeable. He happily answered my (many!) questions before we signed up to the classes.

My daughter is learning self-defence as part of the Duke of Edinburgh scheme. She was slightly apprehensive to start with but Richard has been so kind and patient that she was very quickly put at ease and now thoroughly enjoys every session with him.

She is learning essential safety techniques and methods to defend herself in a simple and friendly way, Richard is a fabulous teacher. I would highly recommend.’

Essex Mum Testimonial

SDF Essex Self defence club (after the beginners class)

The structure of the first 6 to 8 weeks of training is that a variety of techniques are covered to give students a good general awareness, then beyond that skills can be refined and developed further. This approach covers various types of attacks, which I believe is vital.

Students learn to apply the most appropriate response to where or how the attack has been initiated, e.g.  addressing a punch to the side of the head, being approached from behind, escaping from a headlock, having their feet targeted, dealing with a gang attack, considering a weapon attack from different directions and applying further take downs and floor techniques, including rape defence if requested.

Fights and attacks are messy, therefore knowing a range of techniques early on, even if not perfected, will help and ensure less reliance on strength alone. I teach all techniques both left and right handed to increase the likelihood of applying them successfully. Beyond the 6 to 8 week period training focuses on making attacks a little more challenging to apply skills learnt. At the end of each class I pressure-test all students, this involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help with avoiding freezing in an anxious situation. This all builds confidence as further techniques are taught.

SDF Essex Self Defence Training

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex. The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques. Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation. Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

March 5, 2023

Self defence club feedback

Our 4 children recently started training with Richard and have loved every session they’ve had so far. He makes it fun for them all whilst maintaining their focus and ensuring they are competent in the techniques they’ve been taught before moving on.

All of the techniques shown are highly effective and thoroughly rehearsed to ensure that each person is confident in what they’ve been taught. I would highly recommend Richard to anybody who wants to develop a better sense of confidence in themselves or their children.

Essex Mum and Dad review

Self defence club feedback

My son and I love the classes provided by SDF Essex, we have learnt so much in such a small amount of time. “Richard is a very patient teacher, breaking down the moves again and again to help us understand. He has stressed the situations where we may need to use what he has taught us, if we ever need to, and what else we can do so that using what he has taught us if in the event there is no other choice”.

The classes are fun, confidence building and a good bonding experience if attending with a son or daughter. Plus it’s a good way to stay active.

Essex Dad

Self defence club feedback

All the children enjoyed the session and learnt a lot about awareness,  & personal safety. Mum learnt a lot to! Was taught age appropriately not dumbed down which they respected. Would recommend for anyone with children & for adults too.

Essex Mum

SDF Essex Self Defence Training

All SDF Essex self defence sessions are empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex. The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques. Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation.

Contact SDFEssex Self Defence Richard Mitchener SDF Essex Self Defence Instructor

March 5, 2023

Beginners self defence testimonial

I recently attended a Beginners course with Richard after a recent incident I encountered in London. On the day of the training my anxiety had kicked in, Richard was fantastic and reassured me that I would be OK and he would let me go at my pace. At each stage he checked that I was comfortable and happy which reassured me and calmed my anxiety down.

I have since attended another of his group sessions and can honestly say I wish that I had done this sooner. Even just by attending 2 sessions it has made me mentally stronger, confident and I am looking forward to joining more sessions and learning more with Richard. I can’t thank you enough.

SDF Essex Beginners self defence testimonial

Beginners self defence testimonial

If you are thinking about signing up for self defence I highly recommend Richard at SDF Essex. He’s highly knowledgeable, professional and makes learning fun and enjoyable.

I joined the half day beginners self defence class with two friends and had the best morning. We first learnt self defence theory in the classroom about how to keep yourself safe from potential threat before going out into the park and learning step by step how to try and diffuse a situation and then how to take someone to the ground in a controlled way in order for you to run away.

We also learnt how to defend yourself against a knife attack. You are not made to do anything you don’t want to do and Richard continually checks in to make sure everyone is ok.

This was all done with the utmost professionalism and also was so fun! You can go to the half day and come away feeling more confident and safe, but you can also sign up to his 1 hour sessions afterwards to learn more. I will be signing up and can’t wait to come again.

Thank you Richard!

SDF Essex Self Defence Training

All SDF Essex self defence sessions are empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex.

The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques. Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation. Contact SDF Essex Self Defence

Contact SDF Essex Self Defence Richard Mitchener SDF Essex Self Defence Instructor

December 20, 2022

Self Defence Class Review

"My 14 year old daugher suffers with generalised anxiety disorder as well as other mental health issues, therefore spending a lot of time in her room, so I was looking for some kind of activity for us to do together. 

Having searched for a while, I found Richard from SDF Essex, who seemed very passionate about his work, and he spent time talking to me on the phone about what he does to make sure it was what I was looking for.

We went to a beginners parent and child class in Great Baddow and both thouroughly enjoyed it.

We learnt so much and it really taught my daughter about awareness especially surrounding her phone. 

Richard made everyone feel at ease from the word go and spent so much time making sure that everyone felt ok and was happy and comfortable with how things were going.

The small class size was really good for my daughter and she really came out of herself during the session, even happy to take Richard down in front of everyone (something I never thought I would see)!

I can see that this is going to build her confidence massively and that we are both going to learn some really important life skills, so we are definitely signing up to continue his classes, with the added bonus that my daughter can use the sessions for her Duke of Edinburgh's award.  

I would highly recommend these classes to anyone and found that Richard was particularly good at making people feel comfortable that may otherwise be very anxious."

Essex Parent Self Defence Class Review

SDF Essex Self Defence Training

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun.

Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

The beginners class is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. SDF Essex self defence sessions are available for individual and group bookings in Essex.

The beginners class covers both personal safety theory, awareness and very effective practical self defence techniques.

Learning the ability to not freeze in an attack situation.

Contact SDFEssex Self Defence

December 4, 2022

Self Defence for students Testimonials

This is the best training that I have found that I can attend with my teenage daughters and we all want to keep learning more! The outdoor sessions gradually put you in more realistic attack situations that force your brain to react in automatic mode.  We love the fitness too and the fact that we can attend any sessions on a pay as you go basis which works well as girls are at University. SDFEssex self defence training have venues in Brentwood, Great Baddow, Chelmsford, and Mountnessing. Everyone's very friendly and Richard, our instructor, makes it great fun too! Highly recommended.

Mum and Teens Testimonial

Self Defence Testimonial

Highly recommend the self defence beginners class that Richard offers. I was anxious to attend as I'm not very confident in social situations, but Richard made the whole process very easy and calmed my nerves.

He answered all my questions and welcomed me to the class along with the other beginners. The class was informative and fun and I will be signing up for more classes going forward. 

Thank you

SDF Essex club student

SDFEssex Self Defence

Self defence for students the training for individuals begins by attending a beginners half day class, covering theory personal safety, awareness and many self defence practical skills.

Training is suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. Half Day Beginners self defence classes in Mountnessing Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford, Essex. Beginners Self Defence once completed, weekly classes in these areas are on a pay as you go basis at the SDFEssex self defence club. Fights and attacks are messy, therefore knowing a range of techniques early on, even if not perfected, will help and ensure less reliance on strength alone. I teach all techniques both left and right handed to increase the likelihood of applying them successfully. 

Beyond the first 6 to 8 week period training focuses on making attacks a little more challenging to apply skills learnt. At the end of each class I pressure-test all students, this involves putting as many skills into practice as possible to help with avoiding freezing in an anxious situation. This all builds confidence as further techniques are taught.

Group classes 1 off or multi session / course in Essex. Self Defence for Groups Schools, Educational organisations, Team Building / Mixed Adults and Youth / Fitness Groups.

Parent and Child school holiday sessions, in Mountnessing Brentwood Chelmsford and Rayleigh in the Essex school holidays. Parent Child Self Defence

Essex Women's groups self defence

Private family sessions.

Speaking events covering anti bullying and personal safety. All SDFEssex self defence sessions are empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging challenging and importantly great fun. Teaching effective techniques for realistic attack situations in Great Baddow Chelmsford, Mountnessing Brentwood Essex.

Instructor contact details

Contact Richard Mitchener SDFEssex Self Defence Instructor 07798 628207 or info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

April 11, 2022

Women's self defence Essex Testimonial

“For years I had been meaning to look into self-defence lessons and I just never got around to it. Then our work van, which is parked right under our bedroom window, got broken into and my husband and I chased the culprits off. 

This was my impetus to go online and finally do something about it. After researching various martial arts disciplines, I came across the SDF Essex website and knew that was what I needed, reality-based self-defence I booked the induction morning with Richard a couple of days later and was totally blown away, I was hooked.

Richard is an empathetic, knowledgeable and professional teacher. The training sessions have an element of fitness training as well as the technical aspect of learning the moves. Everyone who trains in the classes is at different levels but it makes no difference, we still all learn something new every time we train. Most of all, it is fun as well.

Since starting with SDF Essex, I have found a new lease of life. I am more aware of my surroundings when I go out and am less afraid now, because I better understand the psychology of an attacker and know that I am not helpless; there IS something I can do to defend myself. It is totally empowering and I love it! Can’t thank you enough Richard Instructor at SDF Essex, you’re the best!”

Essex Student

Self Defence Theory and Practical Training options

Half Day Beginners classes in Mountnessing Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford, Essex each month, suitable for adults, families and youths from age 10. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/beginners-self-defence/

Once completed weekly classes in these areas on a pay as you go basis.

Group classes 1 off or multi session / course in Essex.

Schools, Educational organisations, Team Building / Mixed Adults and Youth / Fitness Groups.

Parent and Child school holiday sessions, in Mountnessing Brentwood Chelmsford and Rayleigh in the Essex school holidays. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/parent-child-self-defence/

Essex Women's groups self defence

Private family sessions.

Speaking events covering anti bullying and personal safety.

Contact to book a self defence Essex class or find out more

Interested in finding out more or wish to book an individual or group self defence class?

Contact Richard SDF Essex Instructor 07798 628207 or info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

Essex Student Ms April 7, 2022

SDF Essex Self defence family session

Couple of recent SDFEssex beginners Self defence family sessions in Essex, teaching important life skills, help build confidence and fitness plus its great fun outdoors.

SDF Essex Testimonials

Below are 2 recent parent reviews:

All the children enjoyed the session and learnt a lot about awareness, & personal safety. Mum learnt a lot to! Was taught age appropriately not dumbed down which they respected. Would recommend for anyone with children & for adults too.

Essex Mum Self defence family session

SDF Essex Self defence family class

My son and I love the classes provided by SDF Essex, we have learnt so much in such a small amount of time.“Richard is a very patient teacher, breaking down the moves again and again to help us understand.

He has stressed the situations where we may need to use what he has taught us, if we ever need to, and what else we can do so that using what he has taught us if in the event there is no other choice”.

The classes are fun, confidence building and a good bonding experience if attending with a son or daughter.  Plus it’s a good way to stay active.

Essex Dad Self defence family session

SDFEssex Self defence first class is the beginners training

Theory and practical tips covered in SDFEssex beginners classes. Are you thinking about attending a self defence class, do you know someone who would benefit from a session? SDFEssex currently has spaces for new students to learn self defence techniques in the Mountnessing Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford classes.

The training begins by attending a Beginners half day class, covering theory personal safety, awareness and many practical skills suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. Beginners Self Defence

Contact details

SDF Essex self defence instructor Richard 07798 628207 info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

April 5, 2022

School Curriculum Extension Day

 

Richard took part in our Year 9 School Curriculum Extension Day. He spoke with our students about personal safety. Richard was able to give them tips and advice that they could put into action immediately; considering mobile phone usage and awareness, the importance of distance and raising the alarm using specific language.

Acting Head of Year 9 Teacher

Beginners self defence class

The beginners class includes theory covering personal safety, reasonable force, awareness and tips with tech.

At least two hours are spent outdoors learning practical techniques including importance of personal space, how and what to say, head protection, restraining an attacker standing, taking an attacker to the ground and restraining the individual on the ground.

Martial arts self defence training also helps build fitness and confidence, applying the techniques students have learnt in the class. This reinforces the actions required to overcome the “freeze” element of an attack.

Generally most people have heard of the Fight or Flight reaction. Students learn responses to an attack, to help avoid Freezing.

Self Defence Training

Are you thinking about learning self defence? Do you know someone who would benefit from a session including school curriculum extension days?

Beginners Self Defence

Self defence training is fun, it helps with confidence and fitness, classes are delivered on a pay-as-you-go basis.

Duke of Edinburgh Award (DofE) Self Defence training with SDF Essex

Parents of teenagers looking for a physical activity should consider my self defence training for the Duke of Edinburgh Award (DofE).

Spaces currently available for new students to attend SDF Essex self defence classes in Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford.

Contact Instructor

Call 07798 628207 or email info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

December 13, 2021

SDFEssex Self Defence Review

SDFEssex AntiBullying Self Defence I enrolled my two boys ages 10 and 13, to join the SDFEssex antibullying self defence for several reasons.
Firstly school bullying is rife in many schools. When such a situation would arise with my sons it was always a challenge for me to advise on the best approach to deal with these occurrences. 

SDFEssex instructor Richard gave very clear advice on how to deal with and defuse an aggressive approach from someone.
Reasonable force was also discussed and the reasons behind why you should or should not deal with an attacker in a certain way. From the many ways to restrain a person, to having the confidence to shout out, (which is not as easy as it sounds, especially if you are a shy person). I do feel this has simultaneously given my sons invaluable life skills. With the added benefit of exercise and confidence whilst having fun with a great team of people.

Thank you SDFEssex

Essex Parent Ms

Self defence beginners training

Theory and practical aspects covered in SDFEssex classes including antibullying self defence techniques.

Are you thinking about attending a self defence class, do you know someone who would benefit from a session?

I currently have spaces for new students to learn self defence techniques in the Brentwood & Chelmsford classes.

The training begins by attending a Beginners half day class, covering theory personal safety, awareness and many practical skills suitable for adults, families and children from age 10. Beginners Self Defence

Once attended, further weekly classes develop your skills and learn new techniques.

Weekend training is fun, helps with confidence and fitness, classes are delivered on a pay as you go basis, no regular commitment required.

Contact details

Find out more contact Richard on 07798 628207

SelfDefenceandFitness.com

richard@selfdefenceandfitness.com

SDFEssex AntiBullying Self Defence - better to know and not need than need and not know.

November 6, 2021

Self defence Essex classes

From my initial inquiry SDF Essex (Richard) has been attentive to detail. He is incredibly passionate and his energy and pride is infectious.

I approached SDFEssex at a time when I was in a very dark place. Having had been in a very toxic and abusive relationship, it was suggested that I look into self defence classes. 

Dubious to say the least I made my inquiries and Richard put me at ease from the very first interaction with him. He asked me questions although was always very considerate as not to pry. 

Having now attended 5 sessions, I am pleased to say that Richard has really helped me along my road to recovery.

He has always been considerate and conscious of the experiences I have been through and will always check to make sure that I really am okay. He is flexible and encourages you to make as many classes as you can but there is no pressure to feel like you have to attend every week. For me this works out perfectly as a single parent and having only every other weekend free I can’t commit to make every weekend. 

He’ll work you hard and you certainly feel it for the week to follow, but I feel invigorated, confident and empowered to take on the world.

Thank you.

SDF Essex Student Ms

Self defence Essex classes

Who are my classes aimed at?

SDF Essex teaches Self Defence in Great Baddow Chelmsford and Mountnessing, Brentwood.

Domestic abuse calls have increased 25% over this lockdown period. A third of violent crimes in Essex is domestic related.

The freephone 24 hour National Domestic Abuse Helpline number is 0808 2000 247 https://www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk

SDF Essex students include:

Teens and young adults attend often for a physical activity for their Duke of Edinburgh award.

Youths, Adults looking to improve fitness, help feel more confident.

Are you looking to help with anxiety, exercise more and make new friends. Individuals looking to have some knowledge in self defence personal safety life skills. That way, if the worse was to happen, the training would help them to not freeze in a potentially bad situation.

Students looking to go traveling or move away into a different area based on their job / study requirements, lone workers.

SDF Essex self defence classes

  • Beginners
  • Women’s groups
  • Educational organisations and Team building activities.
  • Parent and child classes

Classes are suitable for Adults, families and children from age 10, SDF Essex has students that are mature in age (some pension age).

Some students attend gyms regularly, some of our students have never been to a gym and probably never will. Students attend my classes for many many reasons.

If you would like to find out more contact Richard Mitchener Instructor of SDF Essex….07798 628207

SelfDefenceandFitness.com

richard@selfdefenceandfitness.com

April 14, 2020

DofE Award Self Defence

"Having moved to Essex with two teenage children, I wanted them to meet new people and try a new activity.

I contacted Richard who was so helpful and my children decided to “give it a go”. They both really enjoy going with the bonus that this activity can be used towards their DofE award.

As a parent I now feel that they are getting fit, meeting new people and having the bonus of keeping themselves safe"

DofE Award Self Defence Parent

DofE Award Self Defence

..."I joined the self defence classes in the summer of 2017 as a way of meeting new people due to recently moving to Chelmsford and to be part of my physical section for my Gold Duke of Edinburgh award.

I have throughly enjoyed the year, getting to meet a range of different people and learning a range of skills to keep myself safe. Despite sometimes the cold wet weather, the community spirit was always good and kept me motivated.

I would recommend this activity to anyone who wants to meet new people, keep fit and to be aware of how to protect yourself".

SDF Essex - Brentwood and Chelmsford Student

Self Defence training with SDF Essex

Looking for a physical activity for DofE?

Consider SDF Essex self defence training for the Duke of Edinburgh Award (DofE).

Spaces currently available for new students to attend self defence classes in Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford Essex.

The training begins by attending a half day beginners class, covering theory, awareness and many practical skills. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/beginners-self-defence/

Students can develop their skills and learn new techniques at the weekly class. All classes are on a pay as you go basis.

Please contact Richard SDF Essex Instructor 07798 628207 info@selfdefenceandfitness.com to answer your questions, find out more and book a place .

March 6, 2020

Self Defence Anti Bullying

Self Defence Anti Bullying - My daughter age 13 has been struggling with bullying for the last five years, unfortunately not just verbal but physical too. As a parent I felt that I needed to do as much as possible to protect her which of course included the police and regular counselling sessions. 

As my daughter is becoming more independent I felt it was time that she had some self defence training.

I called Richard who was straight away very concerned for my daughter and wanted to help in anyway he could. Even to the point of giving her one to one training if she felt uncomfortable in a group. 

Richard is absolutely amazing. My daughter now goes every week as she thoroughly enjoys every minute of the training. She as well as myself and husband have learnt so much through her tuition from Rich. 

I can whole heartedly recommend Richard to anyone. Richard is very professional, fun, enthusiastic, with massive amounts of knowledge and qualifications. My daughter has gained in self belief and confidence now going out with her friends again.

Thank you very much to Richard and his wonderful family for making her feel so welcome and for all your support.

Essex Mum Testimonial

Self defence training in Essex

Are you thinking about attending a SDF Essex self defence class? If you have been looking to learn self defence, for yourself or someone you know but didn’t know where to start, or are concerned about attending, this could be just what you are looking for.

Spaces available for new students to learn self defence techniques in Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford Essex classes.

The training begins by attending a half day beginners class, covering theory, awareness and many practical skills suitable for adults and children from age 10. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/beginners-self-defence/

Instructor details

Please contact Richard the Instructor ASAP 07798 628207 info@selfdefenceandfitness.com class spaces are limited.

Once the beginners class is completed, attending the weekly classes helps develop your skills build confidence and learn new techniques. Self defence classes are suitable for adults, teens youths & families.

SDF Essex training is fun, helps with confidence and fitness. The classes are delivered on a pay-as you-go basis, no regular commitment required.

Richard Mitchener

SDF Essex Self Defence Anti Bullying Instructor

Mum of SDF Essex Student in Chelmsford February 24, 2020

Grapevine Essex Self Defence

Grapevine Essex Self Defence  - We approached Richard, to run a self-defence class for some of our members over the Easter break.
They had to fill in a medical questionnaire in advance so that Richard was well aware of any possible problems which could arise.
To begin with, we had a question and answer session on what constitutes bullying and how we may present ourselves to a possible bully as an easy target without even realising it.

Personal Safety

Richard discussed ways of making ourselves ‘safe’ whilst out and about…for example, if you have to use your mobile phone, then make sure your back is against a wall so that you cannot be attacked from behind. He stressed the importance of not having earphones over both ears to make us more aware of our surroundings.

Self Defence

We then got onto how we can protect ourselves from a possible attack to the head area. Richard explained very carefully all steps involved and made sure he involved everyone even those sitting out on the side.

We practised how we should place our legs, arms, hands and elbows to fend off an attack to the head. This was repeated many times and will stick in their memories, I am sure.

All the time, Richard was very professional, caring and made sure everyone completed the manoeuvres carefully.
Excellent session and I would thoroughly recommend Richard to any other group looking for self-defence instruction.

Grapevine Essex testimonial

Who is Grapevine Essex

Grapevine Essex is a charity which provides fully supported recreational and educational activities for adults with learning difficulties in Essex.

This was such a great experience, I absolutely loved this group session. I was booked again two years later as an activity for their summer. Thank you Grapevine Essex team keep safe Richard

If you would like to find out more contact Richard Mitchener SDF Essex Instructor 07798 628207

richard@selfdefenceandfitness.com

Grapevine Essex February 22, 2020

SDF Essex Student reviews

Myself and my younger brother attended Richard’s self defence sessions in Chelmsford and we both enjoyed it greatly.

My brother was nervous at first but Richard immediately put him at ease and encouraged him, really building his overall confidence over the weeks with his support.

The content is enjoyable as well as useful, and we both feel much more capable and safer since learning it- our mum is much less worried about me returning to my university, as well as my brother being in high school now that we both know how to look after ourselves more.

Overall, Richard and his family are very friendly, we really enjoyed ourselves and learnt a lot of valuable information and techniques, and the content covered was really broad and useful from personal saftey, getting out of attacks, restraining someone, knife attack defence, rape defence, and more. Would definitely recommend to all.

SDF Essex University student

SDF Essex Student reviews

My two children had self defence lessons with Richard and his family all summer and loved it.

He taught useful information on staying safe and defensive techniques in a fun and engaging way so the kids enjoyed it, and the lessons also helped my son’s confidence- he’s a naturally shy child and Richard especially helped him to become more outgoing and confident in himself.

Would definitely recommend for all, my kids are already looking forward to returning for more classes when they can next summer.

Parent Review

Personal safety self defence training

Personal safety self defence training is a life skill. It helps with confidence, self esteem, fitness, develops strong bonds of friendship and respect.

A number of teenagers and young adults use my classes for their physical activity for the Duke of Edinburgh award.

Are you or do you know someone that is attending University?

Looking to go travelling and / or living in a new area?

If you would like to reserve a place for a beginners class in either Brentwood or Great Baddow Chelmsford Essex or further information about the various SDF Essex self defence training options, please contact me. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/beginners-self-defence/

Contact now Email: info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

Phone: 07798 628207

Thanks Richard SDF Essex Self Defence Instructor

February 3, 2020

Parent self defence reviews

"Absolute brilliant taster session this morning with my child. We had so much fun and learnt loads, highly recommend for anyone especially for those going up to secondary school".

Taster class review

“We had a great morning yesterday at the taster session, we had 10yr old and 12 year olds and they got so much from it as did us parents. Get practical advice and techniques, we would all highly recommend”

Parent and Child taster class review

“Whilst it was serious we had great fun and found it very informative. My son who is going into year 7 came home with confidence and techniques to help him remain safe”. 

Parent and Child taster

"We joined Richard this afternoon for a two hour session to hopefully prepare him a little for secondary school and give him some confidence". "Richard really engages with the boys and fills them with genuine support and confidence. We learnt so many new skills and different ways to approach and deal with situations. Highly recommend".

Taster class review

Self defence beginners class review

"Just come back from the beginners class with my 11 year old son, absolutely brilliant class really enjoyed it and both learnt so much! very thorough and informative. Big thank you to Richard and his family. looking forward to coming along to further classes in the future".

Essex Mum beginners class review

Richard I write to applaud you for your dedication to assisting young people such as my son, to come out of their shell, and defend themselves in time of trouble.

My son did enjoy himself today by participating in the self defence training session. We look forward to joining you and other participants in next week’s practice.

Chelmsford class Dad review

Self defence weekend class reviews

"This was such amazing course for my daughter, she gained Confidence and self believe after being bullied at school for years! I would highly recommend Richard to anyone wanting to gain more fitness, confidence, working as a team, meeting new friends with absolutely no pressure".

Essex Mum weekly class review

"I had been looking for a Self defence class for my 10-year old daughter, due to start Senior School soon and walk on her own, She's learnt a lot over a short period of time and has grown in confidence. I would highly recommend the training".

Essex parent self defence reviews

SDF Essex self defence training

From 2018 SDF Essex self defence launched a series of parent and child taster classes in the Essex school holidays, to book a class please call for next dates. The taster classes run in Billericay, Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester and Rayleigh.

Half day beginners classes in Brentwood and Chelmsford.

Parent and Child Self Defence class in Essex School Holidays

The next Parent Child self defence taster class in Rayleigh 17th February 2020. This parent and child self defence taster class is ideal for children attending school years 6 and 7.

Ages 10 and 11 are often when children start to have a little more responsibility and independence, start walking to and from school and prepare to move up to or within secondary school.

Parent Child Self Defence

https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/parent-child-self-defence/

Call now to find out about my training. 07798 628207

January 15, 2020

Team building self defence

Team building self defence workshop ... "I found the session very enlightening and I learnt some good takeaways from the course.  The initial part of the session covered basic checks to ensure that you are not a victim of phone or wallet/purse theft.

... The second part of the session covered basic self defence techniques which were easy to learn and practice.  I would recommend the course, but it could be longer (covering 2 hours) and I would be interested in the next level of course.

... Excellent tutor who was able to communicate well and made sure that we all felt at ease".

"Really enjoyed the session – it was interactive, and he explained things really clearly and not in a way that made situations feel frightening. I would definitely be interested in attending another session to build on what we learnt".  

... I thought the session was great – My biggest take away was to be aware of my surroundings. Try very hard to stay calm but be stern. I would have liked to have covered more scenarios and would definitely like more sessions if possible. 

Self Defence workshop reviews

Team building for groups

Team building self defence for groups can run as a one-off taster session or a multi session course. Techniques covered include theory and practical skills. These can run during the day, as an end of day activity or later in the evening across Essex and London.

Self defence techniques learnt through the training are relatively simple, extremely effective and fun. Learn the ability to avoid freezing in an attack situation by perfecting learned responses. SDF Essex training is always respectful, positive, encouraging and challenging.

In an attack, surviving unharmed is winning, many attacks either start with grabbing, pushing or pulling.

Sessions can be tailored to meet specific requirements and can include knife and rape defence techniques.

For information and a quote call Richard on 07798 628207 or email info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

December 30, 2019

Defend yourself with SDF Essex

 Defend yourself with SDF Essex - After a traumatic incident I decided to act and join a self defence class. From my initial enquiry to Richard of SDF Essex I found him to be extremely understanding and our subsequent training sessions have proved to be invaluable.

It has restored my confidence and has given me a general understanding of what to do if a similar situation arose again. Give it a go, you won’t regret it!

Thank you Richard.

Chelmsford SDF Essex Student 

Learning to defend yourself

“I would just like to say what a positive experience we all had at the Self Defence for Beginners in Great Baddow recently. 

The theory part was extremely informative and Richard made us all feel comfortable and relaxed even though some of the subject matter was serious. He was constantly checking that both kids were at ease and happy to continue which was very reassuring throughout the morning. 

The practical session that followed was excellent for both fitness and confidence building. I would highly recommend contacting him for any enquiries relating to Self Defence or even if you are just looking for something different for exercise”

Family self defence class

SDF Essex Beginners self defence class in Brentwood and Chelmsford

Learn to defend yourself in Essex with SDF Essex. Half day beginners self defence class in Mountnessing Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford suitable for adults teenagers and children age 10 and above.

Are you thinking about attending a SDF Essex self defence class?

I currently have spaces for new students to learn self defence techniques in my Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford classes.

The training begins by attending a Beginners class, covering theory personal safety, awareness and many practical skills suitable for adults and youths from age 10, spaces are limited and need to be booked in advance.

Once completed, further weekly classes develop your skills and learn new techniques.

Training is fun, helps with confidence and fitness, classes are delivered on a pay as you go basis, no regular commitment required.

Book a SDF Essex Beginners Self Defence class and learn to defend yourself, training in Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford.

Contact

Richard Mitchener the Instructor / Owner of SDF Essex on 07798 628207 info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

richard@selfdefenceandfitness.com

December 30, 2019

Children's self defence Chelmsford

“I would just like to say what a positive experience we all had at the children's self defence class in Great Baddow, Chelmsford recently.

The theory part was extremely informative and Richard from SDF Essex made us all feel comfortable and relaxed even though some of the subject matter was serious.

He was constantly checking that both kids were at ease and happy to continue which was very reassuring throughout the morning.

The practical session that followed was excellent for both fitness and confidence building.

I would highly recommend contacting him for any enquiries relating to Self Defence or even if you are just looking for something different for exercise”

Chelmsford class Parent testimonial

Beginners self defence class

Each month I run a half day beginners self defence class in Mountnessing Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford for adults, teenagers and children above ten years of age.

Are you thinking about attending a SDF Essex self defence class?

I currently have spaces for new students to learn self defence techniques in my Mountnessing Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford classes.

Self defence training, it's better to know and not need than need and not know.

The training begins by attending a Beginners class, covering theory personal safety, awareness and many practical skills.

Suitable for adults and youths from age 10, spaces are limited and need to be booked in advance.

Once completed, further weekly classes develop your skills and learn new techniques, classes for adults, teens youths & families.

Training is great fun, helps with confidence and fitness, classes are delivered on a pay-as-you-go basis.

Call to book a SDF Essex Beginners Self Defence class and learn to defend yourself, weekend classes run in Mountnessing Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford.

Thank you

Richard - SDF Essex self defence instructor

December 30, 2019

Chelmsford self defence testimonial

I came along to support a friend and 3 weeks later really look forward to going along.  The teaching is really good and caters for all abilities and fitness levels. As a family run activity the atmosphere is welcoming and fun. I love the mix of outdoor fitness and personal defence training outdoors. I work shifts, but can attend flexibly when I want and pay as I go which is ideal.

As for the self defence I feel the benefit already in being more safety aware and with regular practice am improving every session. Why not come along and try something different you'll love it! 

SDF Essex - Chelmsford self defence student testimonial

Are you thinking about attending a SDF Essex self defence class? If you have been looking to learn self defence, for yourself or someone you know but didn’t know where to start, or are concerned about attending, this could be just what you are looking for. See below Chelmsford self defence testimonial.

Spaces available for new students to learn self defence techniques in Brentwood & Great Baddow Chelmsford Essex classes.

The training begins by attending a half day beginners class, covering theory, awareness and many practical skills suitable for adults and children from age 10. https://www.selfdefenceandfitness.com/beginners-self-defence/

Please contact Richard the Instructor for further information and next available dates - info@selfdefenceandfitness.com or 07798 628207 spaces are limited.

Once the beginners class is completed, attending the pay-as-yo-go weekly classes helps develop your skills and learn new techniques, classes for adults, teens youths & families.

All training is fun, helps with confidence and fitness, classes are delivered on a pay as you go basis, no regular commitment required, see below a recent review testimonial for a new student .

Book an Essex half day self defence class or find out more, contact Richard Mitchener now

Contact SDF Essex Instructor Richard on 07798 628207 or info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

December 15, 2019

Self Defence Essex testimonial

Its so rewarding when you receive a Self Defence Essex testimonial - "Richard, from the outset, has been great at listening to what my son & I wanted to gain from his sessions both in our initial call and subsequent training sessions.

He has always made us feel welcome and the 'no one is better than anyone else' attitude at the training sessions makes you feel very at ease. Everyone knuckles down to learn.

At every step Richard makes sure you are comfortable with the next step and the drills are fully explained. You are taken through step by step at your own pace. The fitness element of the session is also great. 

Richard has been very attentive in making my myself & my son feel comfortable at all times and has tailored elements of the session to cater for a particular section we wanted to learn/cover.

Richard is professional & personable. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him".  

SDF Essex Mum

Main Benefits of Learning Self Defence

  • Increased risk awareness.
  • Feel more confident, help with fitness.
  • Learn an important life skill.
  • Build positive relationships, make friends and have fun.
  • Duke of Edinburgh Award DofE Physical Activity.

Self Defence Theory and Practical Training options with SDF Essex

  • Half Day Beginners classes in Brentwood and Great Baddow Chelmsford, Essex each month, for adults, families and youths from age 10.
  • Beginners class completed weekly classes in these areas are available on a pay-as-you-go basis.
  • Taster classes 1 off or multi session / course in Essex.
  • Schools, Educational organisations, Team Building / Women's, Adults and Youth Groups.
  • Parent and Child school holiday sessions.
  • Private 1 to 2 sessions in Essex.
  • Speaking events covering anti bullying and personal safety.

Book a self defence session / find out more

Interested in finding out more or wish to book a self defence class contact the Instructor Richard from SDF Essex 07798 628207 or info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

Thank you for your time, keep safe Richard

December 15, 2019

Boarding school self defence

Boarding school self defence - As the Director of Boarding at an independent school, I felt it was important to offer self-defence classes to our boarding students.

Richard was very enthusiastic, flexible and willing to accommodate our varying needs within the whole school boarding community.

The sessions were engaging with a variety of activities. Richard managed to cover a lot of information into his sessions and they were a good mix of theoretical and practical.

One of the girls commented that ....

“Self defence made me feel empowered and self-assured that in a compromising situation I would be able to defend myself”.

The students overwhelmingly found the sessions useful as well as really fun and I would highly recommend Richard and his training.

Mrs S Head of Boarding at Essex School

What's SDF Essex Self Defence Training about?

Sessions can run during the day to supplement the curriculum or as an end of day activity. Training can be held both inside and outdoors on grass.

Self defence and personal safety classes.

Personal safety self defence training is a life skill. It helps with confidence, self esteem, fitness, develops strong bonds of friendship and respect.

A number of teenagers and young adults use my classes for their physical activity for the Duke of Edinburgh award.

Do you know someone that is attending University?

Looking to go travelling and / or living in a new area?

Self defence next moves

SDF Essex is looking to meet and discuss the possibility of running tailored self defence personal safety sessions, based on any organisation's requirements for students and / or staff.

If you are involved in an educational organisation or Duke of Edinburgh award and would like information regarding a single taster session or a multi session event please contact Richard SDF Essex Instructor.

Contact details

Richard Mitchener

07798 628207

December 9, 2019

Self Defence Year 6 school

I had been looking for a self-defence class for my 10-year old daughter for a while but could not find anything suitable for her age.

As she was due to start Senior School soon and walk on her own, it was important to me that she knew how to defend herself but martial arts were not her thing.

I eventually came across SDF Essex and contacted Richard to check the minimum age.

We had a long chat about what I was looking for and he made me feel at ease straight away.

We both completed the induction course and have been going to Sunday sessions since September.

My daughter thoroughly enjoys them and feels totally comfortable with the adults as everyone is so friendly.

She’s learnt a lot over a short period of time and has grown in confidence. The fitness sessions at the end are also very beneficial.

I would highly recommend SDF Essex classes!

Self Defence Year 6 school Parent child self defence

SDF Essex Parent Child self defence class

This parent and child self defence class is ideal for children attending school years 6 and 7.

This age is often when children start to have a little more responsibility and independence, walking to and from school on their own.

Children often receive their first mobile phone around this age too, so this session covers personal safety skills including aspects with tech.

Attending secondary school, for most, means travelling further and possibly using buses or trains for the first time, plus longer days combining earlier starts and / or later finishes.

Interested in finding out more or wish to book on a self defence beginners class covering personal safety and fitness.

Contact Richard Mitchener the owner Instructor of SDF Essex on 07798 628207

SelfDefenceandFitness.com

info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

November 25, 2019

Self Defence building confidence

Self defence building confidence - I've never taken a self-defence class before so had no idea what to expect.

I knew I needed to build up my confidence again after a very difficult time with anxiety and stress at work and thought this might be one way to achieve that.

After an initial email enquiry, I received a call from Richard going through the details of how it works, what to wear etc. which was very helpful and reassuring.

I was a little nervous attending the first session as I was going on my own, but as soon as I arrived Richard's warm and friendly manner put me at ease.

After the first session I felt really empowered and couldn't wait to demonstrate the moves I'd learnt on my husband!

Since then, I've attended a number of times and have loved each one.

Even when I was the only person in attendance, I got to have a great session with Richard and his lovely wife, who also attends and is just as welcoming as Richard.

It's really helped to give me a boost and has not only been good for my confidence, but my fitness too as there is the added bonus of a training session each week.

For anyone who is undecided about coming along, just try it. What do you have to lose?

Brentwood & Chelmsford Student Ms

SDF Essex beginners self defence training in Essex

The techniques learnt through this class are relatively simple, extremely effective and fun.

Learn the ability to avoid freezing in an attack situation by perfecting learned responses.

Developing skills and procedures for improving awareness and being prepared if the unthinkable were to happen.

SDF Essex self defence training is empowering, always respectful, positive, encouraging, challenging and importantly great fun.

In an attack, surviving unharmed is winning. Many attacks either start with grabbing, pushing or pulling.

Contact Richard

SelfDefenceandFitness.com

07798 628207
info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

November 19, 2019

Self Defence with SDF Essex

Self defence with SDF Essex, I decided to undertake some self defence training and after an extensive search I contacted Richard and I am really pleased that I did. The classes are fun, insightful and interesting.

There is a mix of demonstration, practice, tips and a fitness training. The classes I attend take place outside in the fresh air and are in a pleasant park location.

My instructor Richard is a patient, positive person who takes an interest in the wellbeing of each of his students. He has taken time to understand what I am trying to achieve and works with me to achieve it.

I have learnt a lot in a short period of time and in a non threatening environment. As well as practical defence skills, I have picked up useful tips to reduce the chances of getting into trouble in the first place.

My self confidence has improved since taking the class and when I am in a stressful situation, my anxiety has significantly reduced. Overall this is a helpful and enjoyable practical defence class and is highly recommended. It is suitable for all types of people due to Richard’s approach and his positive outlook.

Contact Richard Mitchener now

Looking for an Essex-based self defence activity suitable for adults, children or the whole family together?

Students attend my classes in Brentwood and Chelmsford for many important reasons.

Late November 2019 there was an article in a national paper – ‘Why outdoor fitness and adding a dose of nature to your exercise routine could boost the mind and body #GreenExcercise’

If you would like to find out more contact Richard the Owner Instructor of SDF Essex on 07798 628207.

See further Testimonial for Self Defence with SDF Essex on the testimonial page. SelfDefenceandFitness.com

info@selfdefenceandfitness.com

Self defence student Mr August 26, 2016